By dan

The end of Comedy Fest 2010

Comedy Festival is a special time of year. For a month each year the nerds, sociopaths, weirdos, the awkward Andy’s and the nervous Nelly’s that are the comedians of the country come together to become kings of the city.
This year there was a great feeling in the Hi Fi ballroom when the winners of the Melbourne International Comedy Festival awards were announced. Rarely do a bunch of cynical comedians agree that those awarded were more deserving of themselves, but this year it seemed that was the case. The Hi Fi ballroom was full of love for the winners.
The Director’s Award: Hannah Gadsby
Best New Comer: Claudia O’Doherty
The Age Critic’s Award:  Asher Treleaven
The People’s Choice: Wil Anderson (It’s like a gold logie)
The Piece O’ Wood: Sam Simmons
The Golden Gibbo: Sam Simmons & David Quirk
The Barry Award: Sammy J & Randy (Heath McIvor)
Constant partying till 4-5am has it’s toll, but it’s worth it.
Great work MICF.